Leinster Schools Senior Cup Quarter-Final: Gonzaga College V Terenure College – The Irish Examiner – February 13 2019

Gonzaga hurdle Terenure challenge to advance to Leinster semi-finals

Leinster Schools Senior Cup quarter-final

Gonzaga College 19

Terenure College 11

Daire Walsh


Gonzaga College progressed to the last-four of the Leinster Schools Senior Cup with a deserved victory over Terenure College at Donnybrook yesterday.

Just under six minutes were gone on the clock when a powerful Karl Morgan break released lock Liam Tyrell for a deadlock-breaking try.

Terenure issued a strong response to this initial setback – centre Henry Roberts coolly splitting the posts off a 30-metre penalty. Rather than ignite a second-quarter surge from the 10-time champions, Fergus Ó hOisín’s outstanding converted score pushed Gonzaga into a 12-3 interval cushion.

Another Roberts penalty on the restart keep ‘Nure in touch, but they couldn’t make their attacking pressure count. Having held their south Dublin rivals at bay for large stretches, Gonzaga grabbed a third try through Henry Godson on 58 minutes.

Patsakorn Kidd touched down in the dying moments to give Terenure some hope, but it was Declan Fassbender’s Ranelagh school who ultimately prevailed.

Scorers for Gonzaga College: L Tyrell, F Ó hOisín, H Godson try each, J Connolly 2 cons.

Scorers for Terenure College: P Kidd try, H Roberts 2 pens.

GONZAGA COLLEGE: C Hennessy; F Ó hOisín, F O’Grady, K Morgan, B Barron; H Colbert, J Connolly; H Godson, H Fitzgerald, R Shaw; L Tyrell, J Coolican; C Kirby Ó Briain, T Cullen, J Barry.

Replacements: A Henry for Kirby Ó Briain (51).

TERENURE COLLEGE: P Kidd; D Byrne, M McGettrick, H Roberts, C McElwaine; G Morgan, L MacNamara; L Vaughan, A Dunne, S McCoy; T Cadell, A Deegan; C Harpur, C Hayes, P Larkin.

Replacements: J Townsend for Cadell, A Ciobanu for MacNamara, J Whelan for D Byrne (all h-t), A Byrne for McCoy (50), J Keegan for Dunne, S Daly for Larkin (both 59), B Dignam for McElwaine (63), T Farrelly for Hayes (66).

Referee: C Hogan (LRR).

This entry was posted in Schools Rugby. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.