Leinster Junior Cup – Terenure College V Clongowes Wood College – The Irish Times

Clongowes dethrone Terenure after flying start

SCHOOLS’ RUGBY: Clongowes Wood College 32 Terenure College 13: TWO OPENING-period tries from winger Cian O’Donoghue proved pivotal in ensuring Clongowes’ passage into the next round of the Leinster Schools’ Junior Cup, as they dethroned reigning Champions Terenure in Donnybrook yesterday afternoon.

Clongowes, who lost out to Terenure at the semi-final stage of this competition last year, got off to a flying start, as Cillian Burke cut right through the Terenure defence after four minutes before offloading to winger O’Donoghue, who showed great pace before touching down in the left corner.

The subsequent conversion was expertly converted by outhalf Steven McVeigh, and even though Terenure quickly responded with a penalty from Jack Ward on nine minutes, this was quickly cancelled out by a similar effort from McVeigh on the right-hand side.

Clongowes extended their lead after 32 minutes when the excellent Burke once again weaved his way into the Terenure half to present O’Donoghue with a second, almost identical try. An injury-time penalty from Ward left Terenure trailing by just nine points (6-15) at the break.

Indeed, the Clongowes advantage was significantly reduced just after the restart when Terenure secondrow Rob Lalor broke through for his side’s first try of the afternoon, which was easily converted by Ward, leaving just two points between the sides.

Clongowes wiped out this score with a converted try from Burke after fine approach work from scrumhalf Ruairi O’Farrell with 20 minutes remaining. A fourth try deep into stoppage time from O’Farrell sealed a famous victory for the Kildare school.

Scorers: Clongowes Wood — S McVeigh 2 pens, 3 cons, C O’Donoghue 2 tries, C Burke, R O’Farrell try each. Terenure College — J Ward 2 pens, 1 con, R Lalor 1 try.

CLONGOWES WOOD: D Kelly; C Neary, C Burke, C Mulcahy, C O’Donoghue; S McVeigh, R O’Farrell; B Carroll, J Lyons, J Inglis; J Fitzpatrick, B O’Regan; C Gillick, E Tyrrell, M Jones. Replacements: J Kennedy for Fitzpatrick (48 mins), J Pimm for Carroll (63 mins), A Hughes for O’Donoghue (68 mins), P Brady for Mulcahy (70+2 mins), J O’Brien for Neary (70+2 mins). M Kelly for (70+6 mins).

TERENURE COLLEGE: T Schmidt; D Williamson, E Rowan, R Sweeney, A Trimble; J Ward, F O’Brien; A Morley, A Roche, S Stanley; J Teahan-Burke, R Lalor; L O’Dea, J McCormac, C Clancy. Replacements: S Walsh for Williamson (50 mins), A Reid for Stanley (52 mins), Stanley for Reid (57 mins), S McGovern for O’Brien (60 mins).

Referee: B Montayne (ARLB).

This entry was posted in Schools Rugby and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply