Leinster Schools’ Junior Cup Semi-Final: St Michael’s College V Terenure College – The Irish Examiner – February 25 2016

St Michael’s cruise into Leinster Junior Cup semi-final

St Michael’s College 45
Terenure College 14

Daire Walsh

Centre Christopher Cosgrave produced a stellar performance at Donnybrook yesterday, as St Michael’s College secured a comprehensive win over Terenure College in the Leinster Schools’ Junior Cup quarter-final.

St Michael’s opened up an early 10-0 cushion after a routine Cosgrave penalty was followed by a Mark O’Brien try, and courtesy of subsequent five-pointers from Ben Gannon and Zach Harrison, Michael’s led 24-0 at the break.

Upon the resumption, Michael’s created further daylight between the teams with a brace of intercept scores by the outstanding Cosgrave. Andrew Smith subsequently claimed a sixth try for the 2012 champions, before Terenure finally gained some solace with late touchdowns by Matthew McGettrick and Dan Byrne.
Scorers for St Michael’s College: C Cosgrave 2 tries, pen, 5 cons, M O’Brien, B Gannon, Z Harrison, A Smith try each, N Carroll con.
Scorers for Terenure College: M McGettrick try, 2 cons, D Byrne try.

ST MICHAEL’S COLLEGE: M O’Brien; A Smith, C Cosgrave, C McGettigan, Z Harrison; N Carroll, R Gilsenan; J Boyle, L Barron, J Toland; J Fish, L Dunne; W Hickey, M Hernan, B Gannon.
Replacements: B Victory, B Gallagher, H McGovern, O Hurley, C Frankling, C Greally, T Gilsenan, E Kelly.

TERENURE COLLEGE: M McGettrick; D Byrne, R McInnes, A Dempsey, E Molloy; G Morgan, B O’Brien; A Byrne, L Vaughan, S McCoy; A Deegan, J Townsend; S Daly, J Cooke, C Harpur.
Replacements: A Dunne, J Keegan, N Dowling, B Vaughan, H Roberts, L McNamara, C Neill, S Noone.

Referee: B O’Keeffe (LRR).

This entry was posted in Schools Rugby. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.