Dublin Senior Football Championship Final: Ballyboden St Enda’s V Thomas Davis – The Tallaght Echo (Online) – November 3 2019

Ballyboden topple Thomas Davis in county final

By Daire Walsh

Ballyboden St Enda’s claimed their fourth Dublin Senior Football Championship title with a convincing victory over southside rivals Thomas Davis at Parnell Park on Sunday.

Inside forwards Ryan Basquel and Ross McGarry were the standout performers for Boden in their latest county success – their first since 2015 – amassing a combined tally of 0-10.

Conquerors of previous champions Kilmacud Crokes at the semi-final stage, Thomas Davis were seeking to end a 28-year drought in this competition.

However, Boden had impressed in a comeback victory over neighbours St Jude’s in the last-four and stormed into this contest with a host of unanswered points.

Ryan Basquel converted a brace of frees in the first-quarter, while his brother Colm and Declan O’Mahony also found the target for Anthony Rainbow’s rampant outfit.

Ryan Deegan eventually opened the Davis’ account on 19 minutes and David Keogh superbly split the posts off the outside of his right boot to offer the Tallaght men additional hope.

Nonetheless, Ryan Basquel (two) and Ross McGarry ensured Boden brought a commanding 0-7 to 0-2 lead into the interval.

Though Davis’ had surpassed expectations in reaching this decider, they were ready to fight until the bitter end in Donnycarney.

An Eoin Kirby free got them up and running on the resumption and former Clare footballer Shane McGrath cut the gap to three points with an outstanding effort on the wing.

Keogh traded scores with opposite number Ross McGarry to keep the Kiltipper side in contention, until Boden created fresh daylight between the teams.

McGarry bagged his third of the game off a prolonged move – preceding a second point for the industrious Colm Basquel.

Kirby was doing his best to stem the rising Boden tide, slotting over a series of frees for last year’s Senior Two champions.

Yet, additional contributions from Ryan Basquel (two), McGarry, Colm Basquel and substitute Alan Flood ultimately sealed a deserved triumph for Ballyboden St Enda’s.

Scorers –

Ballyboden St Enda’s: R Basquel 0-6 (3f), R McGarry 0-4, C Basquel 0-3 (2f), D O’Mahony, A Flood 0-1 each.

Thomas Davis: E Kirby 0-4 (4f), D Keogh 0-2, R Deegan (f), S McGrath, E O’Toole 0-1 each.

BALLYBODEN ST ENDA’S: D Gogan; B Dwan, S Clayton, C Flaherty; D Nelson, R McDaid, A Waters; MD Macauley, D O’Mahony; S Gibbons, C Basquel, D O’Reilly; R McGarry, R Basquel, W Egan. Subs: A Flood for Gibbons (h-t), K Kennedy for McDaid (40-46), T Hayes for Egan (48), B Bobbett for Macauley (51), Kennedy for Dwan, J Holland for Nelson (both 57), C Keaney for O’Reilly (59).

THOMAS DAVIS: R Crilly; A Shorten, P Quinn, Brian Kirby; A Fallon, C Murphy, S Kennedy; Brendan Kirby, O Kelly; S McGrath, E Kirby, E Lambert; R Deegan, C Farrelly, D Keogh. Subs: E O’Toole for Kelly (8), S Reilly for Lambert (h-t), Lambert for McGrath, M Nolan for B Kirby (both 55).

Referee: J Higgins (Na Fianna).

This entry was posted in Gaelic Football. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.