Dublin Schools Senior ‘A’ Football Championship Semi-Final: St Aidan’s CBS V St Benildus College – The Evening Herald – May 9 2019



Northside Saints in firm control from the start

Daire Walsh

ST AIDAN’S CBS booked their spot in the Dublin Schools Senior ‘A’ Football Championship decider courtesy of a comprehensive triumph over St Benildus College at Collins Avenue on Tuesday.

Powered by the attacking triumvirate of John Foley, Sean Giles and Sean Lowry, Aidan’s developed an early cushion that they never relinquished. They now progress to face Maynooth Post-Primary in the forthcoming showpiece.

These two sides previously met in the group stages of the Leinster Championship last November, when Aidan’s emerged with 13 points to spare (2-15 to 0-8) in Benildus’ back yard. They began this contest firing on all cylinders – Foley (two), Tadhg Kellett, Eoin Flaherty and Niall Carroll registered quick-fire points to set the wheels in motion.

After Flaherty added his second score of the half, Lowry superbly rattled the Benildus net with an unstoppable strike on 10 minutes. Further goals followed through Foley and Kerrie Hannon before Benildus finally opened their account with a pointed Sean Monaghan free.

However, a Giles goal propelled Aidan’s into a 4-8 to 0-2 interval lead. Supplementing Niall Kellegher’s score just shy of the interval, Benildus centre-back Eoin Donnelly split the posts on the resumption.

Yet Foley swiftly responded with a 1-1 salvo for Aidan’s and their sixth goal inevitably arrived on the stroke of 40 minutes. Giles was once again on target via a precise Hannon pass and wing-back Keith Doran subsequently raised a white flag to enhance the ever-widening gap.

Aidan’s substitute Sean Finn found the net off another sweeping move, only for Bryan Keogh-Smyth to match his efforts in clinical style for the southsiders.

During an improved final quarter from Benildus, Niall Roe cancelled out an eighth Aidan’s goal courtesy of Dean Robertson. A number of their squad featured for their senior hurlers in their ‘A’ Championship final victory over Aidan’s in December, but it proved to be a reversal of fortune on this occasion.

Scorers – St Aidan’s CBS: J Foley 2-4, S Giles 2-0, S Lowry 1-2, S Finn 1-1, K Hannon, D Robertson 1-0 each, E Flaherty 0-2, K Doran, T Kellett, N Carroll, C Moore 0-1 each. St Benildus College: N Roe, B Keogh-Smyth 1-0 each, S Monaghan 0-2 (2f), C Mooney, E Donnelly, N Kellegher 0-1 each.

ST AIDAN’S CBS: J O’Brien; K O’Sullivan, R Cooper, D Wherley; T Kellett, J Thorp, K Doran; E Flaherty, A McNally; S Lowry, J Foley, N Carroll; S Giles, K Hannon, G Sheridan. Subs: J Byrne, T Gleeson, C Sheridan, S Finn, D Gallagher, C Daly, D Robertson, C Moore, J Berry.

ST BENILDUS COLLEGE: M Fox; S Mac Donnacha, D O’Leary, G Fahy; C Mooney, E Donnelly, J O’Carroll; N Roe, J Quinlan; S Monaghan, E McEnerney, N Kellegher; S Walsh, C Foley, C De hOra. Subs: B Keogh-Smyth.

Referee: L Lacey (Na Fianna).

This entry was posted in Schools GAA. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.