Dublin Schools Senior ‘A’ Camogie Championship Final: Dominican College V Loreto Beaufort – The Evening Herald – January 24 2019



Magical Mangan delivers goals which prove key for northsiders in final victory over Loreto

Daire Walsh

DOMINICAN College produced a dominant second-half display in Abbotstown last Friday afternoon to claim the Dublin Schools Senior ‘A’ Camogie Championship title.

Despite finding themselves just one point in front on the half-hour mark (2-2 to 1-4), the Drumcondra side turned on the style after the break to see off the challenge of Loreto Beaufort. Following a tentative start, Anna O’Dwyer’s 11th-minute point for Dominicans was quickly supplemented by a superb Saibh Mangan goal.


While the northsiders threatened to run riot when Eile O Ceallaigh added another three-pointer, their Rathfarnham counterparts delivered an impressive rebuttal. After Ciara Murphy fired clinically beyond Karen O’Connell’s reach, Loreto edged themselves back into contention.

Hollyn Kennedy points either side of the interval wiped out their opponents’ slender cushion, but Dominicans responded to these set-backs in the most emphatic way possible. Mangan’s speculative 35th-minute shot found its way to the Loreto net and O Ceallaigh conjured her second goal at the end of a subsequent attack.

O’Dwyer and Mangan posted additional points to give Dominicans am eight-point buffer, while Mangan’s younger sister – Aifric – also found the target off the bench. To Loreto’s credit, their continued peserverance was rewarded in the shape of four final-quarter points – including three by Rachel Dolan.

However, with Anna Sullivan converting a 40-metre free, Dominicans convincingly secured the top-tier crown.

Scorers – Dominican College: S Mangan 2-3, E O Ceallaigh 2-0, A O’Dwyer 0-2, A Sullivan (f), A Mangan 0-1 each. Loreto Beaufort: C Murphy 1-3 (0-1 ’45’), R Dolan 0-3 (2f, 1 ’45’), H Kennedy 0-2, M Fitzpatrick 0-1.

DOMINICAN COLLEGE: K O’Connell; E Healy, S Fitzgerald, A Brennan; A Berry, E Bryne, A Lynch; Z Ryan, E Ahern; A O’Dwyer, F Isdell, A Sullivan; C Walsh, S Mangan, E O Ceallaigh. Subs: A Mangan for Walsh (39), I McGarry for Sullivan (61).

LORETO BEAUFORT: Y Gargan; S-A Murphy, R Flynn, H Mulholland; S Meagher, A Gargan, A O’Shea; R Dolan, O Meagher; C Murphy, H Kennedy, L O’Shea; S O’Connor Power, B Swords, M Fitzpatrick. Subs: N Ryan for A O’Shea (41), E Doran for O Connor Power (47).

Referee: F Gaffney (Na Fianna).

This entry was posted in Schools GAA. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.