British & Irish Cup Quarter-Final: Leinster ‘A’ V Munster ‘A’ – The Irish Independent – March 31 2018

Leinster dethrone Reds

B&I Cup: Leinster ‘A’ 17 Munster ‘A’ 6

Tries in each half by Peadar Timmins and Jack Kelly helped Leinster ‘A’ to dethrone Munster ‘A’ in this British & Irish Cup quarter-final at Energia Park.

During a lively start to the contest, fly-half Bill Johnston edged Munster into the lead from a close-range penalty. The concession of this early score forced the hosts into life and flanker Timmins crossed the whitewash on 12 minutes – after an initial break for the line by scrum-half Charlie Rock.

This excellent score was supplemented by a Ciaran Frawley conversion, giving Noel McNamara’s side a four-point platform. However, following a subsequent attacking surge by the visitors, Johnston split the posts with a superb long-range place-kick.

Frawley had an ideal opportunity to extend Leinster’s lead, but his 22-metre penalty rebounded off the left-hand post and away to safety. With just one point separating the teams (7-6 in favour of Leinster), it was anyone’s game after the break.

Yet, following Frawley’s three-pointer on the hour mark, the Blues created significant daylight between the sides. Thanks to excellent approach work by Gavin Mullin and Tommy O’Brien, full-back Kelly finished off a converted try in clinical style.

This left Munster too much of a mountain to climb in the closing stages, as Leinster deservedly advanced to the next stage.

They will now face Jersey Reds in the penultimate round of the competition, after they defeated fellow English Championship outfit Doncaster Knights in their last-eight encounter at St Peter yesterday.

Leinster ‘A’ – J Kelly; T O’Brien, G Mullin, C O’Brien, B Daly; C Frawley (H Byrne 80), C Rock (R Foley 80); E Byrne (P Dooley 62), B Byrne, V Abdaladze (M Bent 45); M Kearney, I Nagle; Ó Dowling (H O’Sullivan 76), P Timmins, Josh Murphy.

Munster ‘A’ – S Fitzgerald (J Power 60); C Nash, D Johnston, A McHenry, R O’Mahony (A Tynan 73); B Johnston, J Stafford (J Poland 62); J Loughman (B Scott 55), K O’Byrne (M Sherry 40), B Scott (C Parker 48); S O’Connor, D O’Shea; D O’Callaghan (J Daly 80), C Oliver, J O’Sullivan (J Foley 69).

Ref – K Dickson (RFU).

This entry was posted in British & Irish Cup Rugby. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.