Ulster Bank League Division 1A: St Mary’s College V Lansdowne – The Irish Examiner – October 27 2012

Hat-trick hero Ahern steers Lansdowne home

St. Mary’s College……………….. 9

Lansdowne…………………………. 29

By Daire Walsh

Ulster Bank League

Division 1A

A hat-trick of Cian Ahern tries paved the way for Lansdowne’s win over reigning champions St. Mary’s at Templeville Road last night, as Mike Ruddock’s charges maintained their 100% start to this season’s
Ulster Bank League Division 1A.

The current league leaders enjoyed a dream start as they moved into a 12-0 cushion with 17 minutes gone thanks to tries from out-half Craig Ronaldson and pacy winger Ahern, both five-pointers set-up by Lansdowne’s Heineken Cup winning scrum-half John Cooney.

Despite some honourable endeavours from Mary’s, they were unable to open their account before the interval, although a a brace of penalties from industrious centre Steve Toal Lennon did reduce the deficit to six 12 minutes after the re-start.

The decisive score of the contest arrived 57 minutes into the action when Mary’s full-back Conor Hogan had his clearance charged down by the alert Ahern, who subsequently beat Hogan to the loose ball to secure his second try of the evening.

A penalty by replacement Gavin Dunne six minutes from time did offer Mary’s hope late on, but further tries at the death from the outstanding Ahern, and second-half substitute Mark Roche, helped Lansdowne to cruise over the line.

Scorers for St. Mary’s College: S Toal Lennon 2 pens, G Dunne pen.
Lansdowne scorers: C Ahern 3 tries, C Ronaldson 1 try, 2 cons, M Roche try.

ST. MARY’S COLLEGE: C Hogan; R Crotty, S Toal Lennon, M O’Driscoll, C Lilly; A Burke, M D’Arcy; C McMahon, Richard Sweeney, J McGrath, C Ruddock, G Sexton, D Keller, G Austin, K Sheehan.

Replacements: Robert Sweeney for McMahon (47), R O’Loughlin for Sexton (56), A Lyons for McGrath (68), G Dunne for Burke (68).

LANSDOWNE: R McCarron; C Ahern, S Gahan, S Carey, C Toolan; C Ronaldson, J Cooney; J O’Connell, T Sexton, M Moore, M Feeley, W Earl, C Ross, C Butterworth, R Boucher.

Replacements: T Beirne for Earl (51-76), M Roche for Carey (56), R Prenderville for Ross (60), S Collins for Sexton (68), P O’Driscoll for Toolan (71), R Prenderville for O’Connell (79).

Referee: D Wilkinson (IRFU).

This entry was posted in Senior Club Rugby. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply